Album of the Month

Stijn van Cauter returns with a perfect package of cosmically-influenced Ambient Funeral Doom.
(Read more)

Featured debut

Classic revisited

Random band

Based in Las Palmas, Gran Canaria, The Raven King was formed in 2010. The band describe themselves as Doom/Post-metal, which equates to a melodic and tun...
(read more)

Paul Chain - Experimental Information : Container 47

Half of this album is sheer madness. It's not even interesting madness. Mr. Chain has made a lot of really good artistic stuff before so I don't think I'm very far off when I say that this must be another of his numerous artistic experimentations. The thing is, I don't get it. The first track is 11 minutes of what seems like someone playing an organ at random. The following piano tracks have a certain mood to each of them. Some of them aren't all that bad, so I guess the album has some artistic value to it. I just can't find any meaning in it.

On 'Expression 8' things change. Now he's playing some sort of rock. I'm not 100% sure what style I'd name it as. Perhaps some mixture between alternative, hard and psychedelic rock? It's somewhat easy going, a bit laid back and grooving. The tracks still keep to experimentation. Especially the vocals which vary from typical rock vocals to some weird, almost insane ones. Paul then continues to play this style throughout the latter half of the album, thus saving it from becoming utterly pointless in my ears.

This is the only full length that Paul Chain ever recorded under his Paul Chain - Experimental Information moniker. It got the number 47 in Mr. Chain's container system, which also became its name. I have yet to figure out why. I would guess that naming the album after its container number is supposed to reflect the simplicity of the album in the sense that it's "simply" experimental, but the number 47 could mean anything.

Most of Paul's experimental stuff doesn't seem like it fits the taste of most and this album in particular is quite a select taste. You have to enjoy really experimental stuff as well as both piano rambling and strange non-sober rock. It doesn't sound anything like Tom Waits, but perhaps that would be the fanbase that might take a slight interest in this?

Reviewer's rating: Unrated


Tracklist :
1. Expression 1
2. Expression 2
3. Expression 3
4. Expression 4
5. Expression 5
6. Expression 6
7. Expression 7
8. Expression 8
9. Expression 9
10. Expression 10
11. Expression 11
12. Expression 12
13. Expression 13
14. Expression 14
15. Expression 15

Duration : Approx. 65 minutes.

Visit the Paul Chain - Experimental Information bandpage.

Reviewed on 14-06-2010 by Arnstein Petersen
Advertise your band, label or distro on doom-metal.com