Album of the Month

Old Night's sophomore album succeeds in delivering a layered and emotive experience that may only reveal itself to you after multiple listens.
(Read more)

Random band

Formed in 2011 in Birmingham by Paul Kenney (Fukpig, ex-Mistress), Kroh split in 2013 but subsequently reformed in its current female-front...
(read more)

Eternal Sorrow : Legacy (Reissue)

A somewhat patchy Gothic/Doom album from Brazilians Eternal Sorrow, originally released in 2002 and now available with bonus tracks.

'Legacy' is the second full-length release from Brazilian Doom act Eternal Sorrow. It was initially released in 2002 but has recently been re-released in a smart digipack with some additional tracks.

The first thing I thought when listening to the opening of this release was My Dying Bride - 'Your River'. It had the same feel to it. Needless to say that it wasn't as good but the similarities are undeniable. Indeed, I found traces of My Dying Bride and Mourning Beloveth throughout this album as Eternal Sorrow attempted to switch between emotional and brutal on a semi-regular basis.

I don't have a big problem with bands taking approaches from other bands in Doom because let's face it - there really aren't many unique bands in Doom nowadays. However, it's not a guaranteed recipe for success to do so, and 'Legacy' is a good example of such. Musically speaking, they enter the softer, more 'emotional' aspects of the release rather well but when it comes to the vocals at such times, it's utterly painful. They're very low in the mix and when you can hear them, they're strained and ineffectual (think low budget Russian NSBM and you'll know what I mean). There's a possibility that the language barrier plays a part there but it detracts from the more contemplative atmosphere, if you will.

However, when this band lurches wildly into the more aggressive, up-tempo sections, I found it to be quite enjoyable. The harsh vocals are particularly good, at least in conjunction with this music played. The connecting sections between the two main styles of play are a touch painful, however. Their synth-laden approach to doing so appears to be an attempt to make the music more dramatic but instead it mostly comes across as cheap and tacky, which was disappointing. It was pleasant to see the band attempt to do a few things of their own on this album to make themselves stand out a bit but their success rate in doing so was about 50/50 in my book so I can't say that the approach was a success, per se, bold though it was.

Most of the vocals on this release are male. However, approximately half-way through it, we're introduced to some female vocals (along the lines of Elisabeth Torsier) and I immediately questioned why they hadn't been used from the start because when utilised in conjunction with the slower, more emotional parts of the composition, it worked well. I still found them to be a tad too low for my liking but it improved things significantly. If they'd kept to the female vocals for the slower parts and the male harsh vocals for the more aggressive parts, I'd have enjoyed 'Legacy' a lot more, that's for sure.

Overall, I found this release to be a bit too 'jumpy' for my liking, meaning that you never knew what you were going to get from one song to the next. Sometimes it was Death/Doom, sometimes it was Gothic Metal, there was a slight nod toward Black Metal, and I'd swear that some of it was simply the soundtrack to the computer game 'Settlers 2: 10th Anniversary'! The release certainly wasn't boring - I'll give it that much. Eternal Sorrow did some things well and got some things wrong, as is fairly standard nowadays. I wouldn't really be able to recommend it to anyone because of the inconsistencies but at the same time it is worth a listen, even if it's just the once. The overall sound is a bit too cheap for my liking but there are things the band can work on for future releases to be more enjoyable.

Click HERE to discuss this review on the doom-metal forum.

Reviewer's rating: 5.5/10


Tracklist :
1. Ashes
2. To Perpetuate My Distance
3. Dunes
4. And The Waters Took My Soul
5. Night Veils
6. Worry
7. Ammanda Thase
8. Shroud
9. The Last Rain
10. The Sadness' Elevation (Intro)
11. Eternal Sorrow
12. Lonely Sufferance
13. Epilogue

Duration : Approx. 69 minutes

Visit the Eternal Sorrow bandpage.

Reviewed on 2019-09-02 by Ian Morrissey
Aesthetic Death
Advertise your band, label or distro on doom-metal.com