Album of the Month

The debut full-length from Greek band Automaton is weighty, sludgy, coffin-lid-slamming Doom perfection.
(Read more)

Random band

A somewhat obscure Québécois five-piece working in the melodic Post-Metal/Post-Core vein in an almost poppy, mainstream-accessible fashion, though their album...
(read more)

Winterkou : Stervend in de Sneeuw

Back in 2000, this was a two man project called Jordskaelv (translated as Earthquake). When one of the band members left the band, the band split up. In 2001, the remaining band member, Anzgorheian, decided to re-start the band under the name Winterkou (translated as 'wintercold'), but this time with two new members.

The sound hasn't changed much from the Jordskaelv days. Actually you don't notice that tracks 5 to 8 are actually the old recordings from the Jordskaelv demo. The music has matured a bit, but the recording quality is still not much to brag about.

Soundwise, Winterkou is a unique band. They don't play dark metal or a purebreed blend between black metal and doom. Instead it's rather atmospheric and calm. The music is cold, minimalistic, lonesome and depressive. The picture of sitting in a bleak winter forest, all alone and forgotten, would probably describe it best. Actually, the name of the demo, 'Stervend In De Sneeuw', does mean 'dying in the snow'.

I am uncertain where track 9, the bonus track, comes from. It does sound like one of their more recent recordings tho. I also suspect that it's a remix/re-recording of 'Klokken Er Tol Midnat' (translated: 'the clock is twelve midnight'). In any case it's probably one of the best tracks on the demo.

Fans of atmospheric doom, or perhaps Dolorian's self-titled album, would probably appreciate this one. Honestly, the low quality of the recording does not change the fact that this is one of the most promising doom/black acts thus far.

Reviewer's rating: Unrated


Tracklist :
1. Een Donkere Tijd
2. Oorlog Op De Veluwe
3. Stervend In De Sneeuw
4. Veluwsch Bloed
5. Felse Profjesie
6. Klokken Er Tol Midnat
7. Bjorke Ine Norse Dorpe
8. Wjorke Ine Norse Dorpe En Pa Gensyn
9. [untitled] [bonus track]

1. A darker time
2. War over the Veluwe
3. Dying in the snow
4. Veluws blood
6. The clock is twelve midnight
7. Bjork in a surly village
8. Wjork in a surly village and see you soon

Duration : Approx. 46 minutes.

Visit the Winterkou bandpage.

Reviewed on ??-??-2005 by Arnstein Petersen
Advertise your band, label or distro on doom-metal.com