Album of the Month

The debut full-length from Greek band Automaton is weighty, sludgy, coffin-lid-slamming Doom perfection.
(Read more)

Random band

Dead In The Water keeps to the oldschool vein of doom/death, i.e. like bands such as diSEMBOWELMENT and Winter, though the music also leans...
(read more)

Abdullah : Abdullah

As mentioned in earlier reviews, there are many tracks which come from earlier releases by Abdullah, 4 to be exact. Tracks 1 and 6 are from 'Snake Lore', whilst tracks 2 and 5 are from their third demo. I don't know why the band's chosen to do this, but the fact that the tracks all fit just as well on this album as on their original releases shows that their style is just as good as back then.

Abdullah is one of those bands that seems to love to break new musical ground without ever experimenting too wildly, preventing their music from sounding like a loose cannon. As many other bands who do the same, they refuse to let anyone put them in a specific genre. In the end, 'Abdullah' sums them up perfectly anyway.

The music is the same laid back stoner/doom with epic touches as the previous two releases. However there are a few new areas of ground covered. Amongst them is a ballad-like and quieter type of music. It still clearly sounds like Abdullah, but the quietness gives it a slightly different atmosphere.

'Lucifer in Starlight' is one of these tracks. This is a particularly interesting track as it is based on an intriguing theological theory. It’s a mournful song as seen through the eyes of Lucifer himself. He speaks of his loneliness and regrets, but also about his realization that it's too late to turn back. ...Really makes one question the effect of punishment.

This is the debut album of Abdullah. Despite the fact it's slightly different from the Abdullah that’s heard in 'Graveyard Poetry', this mournful debut is just as good

Reviewer's rating: Unrated


Tracklist :
1. The Path to Enlightenment
2. Conundrum
3. Earths Answer
4. Visions of the Daughters Of Time
5. Now is the Winter
6. Lucifer in Starlight
7. The Black Ones
8. Awakening the Colossus
9. Proverbs of Hell
10. Journey to The Orange Island
11. Lotus Eaters

Duration : Approx. 68 minutes

Visit the Abdullah bandpage.

Reviewed on 09-02-2006 by Arnstein Petersen
Advertise your band, label or distro on doom-metal.com