Album of the Month

The debut full-length from Greek band Automaton is weighty, sludgy, coffin-lid-slamming Doom perfection.
(Read more)

Random band

Very My Dying Bride sounding Doom-metal. Melodic-doom with a mixture of slow, clean male vocals and some mid-tempo, death growls. The clean vocals are re...
(read more)

Indian : From All Purity

Indian's Sludge Doom is about as intense as you could wish for.

This is the sound of your world collapsing around you. It is vicious and ugly, with tortuous, lumbering riffs struggling desperately to be heard amid the sludgy ferocity. From all purity… comes sickening blackened Doom noise, it would seem.

This is the Chicago band’s fifth full-length album, and their second on Relapse Records, home to Doom acts such as Windhand and Serpentine Path. With a number of quality recordings behind them, including their well-received 2005 bow The Unquiet Sky and 2011’s feted 'Guiltless', 2014 promises to be another year of progress for Indian.

Age and experience have not withered their corrosive rage - 'From All Purity' is about as intense as you could wish for. It is engineered and produced by Sanford Parker, much beloved within Chicago’s extreme Metal circles, and he has ensured that each instrument is given ample opportunity to shine. Joint guitarists/vocalists Will Lindsay and Dylan O’Toole seem hell-bent on tearing their own throats to pieces, while simultaneously doing unspeakable things to their instruments. The bass of Ron DeFries drags along like a leprous drunkard, and Bill Bumgardner’s drums are the sound of dreams shattering. Together, they create a bleak cacophony, emotionally hollow but thick as syrup.

It is an album of three sections. The opening songs, 'Rape' and 'The Impetus Bleeds' are chaotic, angular creations, and difficult to listen to, which is exactly the band’s intention. The middle two songs are (slightly) more traditional and understated, with pounding, Doom-laden riffs creating a solid spine from which the music hangs. These are the standout tracks on the album and, in a parallel universe full of nihilistic Doom Metal lovers, the latter, 'Rhetoric Of No' would be the album’s hit single.

The third part of 'From All Purity' is a little disjointed. Penultimate song 'Clarify' is five minutes of industrial, electronic horror courtesy of Sean Patton, whose role in the band is described simply as “Noise”. Elsewhere, Patton’s skills are utilised more subtly, but 'Clarify' serves only to break the album’s flow, so that by the time the closer 'Disambiguation' begins, the listener has either moved on or switched off, the spell broken. The final song lacks the punishing energy of earlier efforts, but thankfully picks up in its second half to close out the album in an appropriately agonised fashion.

With their latest sludgy onslaught, Indian, from the Windy City, have delivered a blast of raw misery that will put a chill into the heart of anyone who dares to listen.

Click HERE to discuss this review on the doom-metal forum.

Reviewer's rating: 7/10


Tracklist :
1. Rape
2. The Impetus Bleeds
3. Directional
4. Rhetoric Of No
5. Clarify
6. Disambiguation

Duration : Approx 40 minutes

Visit the Indian bandpage.

Reviewed on 2014-01-18 by Steve Bidmead
Advertise your band, label or distro on doom-metal.com