Album of the Month

The debut full-length from Greek band Automaton is weighty, sludgy, coffin-lid-slamming Doom perfection.
(Read more)

Random band

The band's onw peculiar brand of Sludgy 'Post-Doom' is essentially made of long erratic sonic ramblings, with long fully instrumental passages sh...
(read more)

Dissolving of Prodigy : Louceni se svetem pozemskym

The first thing that draws my attention is the change in style between the first two Dissolving of Prodigy albums and this one. It is pretty obvious that a band that split for a couple of years, and started over again with only two of the original members left, can have a drastic change of sound indeed. Obvious changes are the vocal styles, the disappearance of the violin, and the more folky touch to the music, whereas the former albums were very dark and somber.

So what to say about this album? All lyrics, titles, even the accompanying words in the booklet are written in the Czech language. They added English translations of the lyrics, but even the credits and thanks list are in Czech. Apparently the new members brought a very ethnic, local folklore influence to the band. This album reminds me quite a lot of their compatriots of Silent Stream of Godless Elegy from whom they recruited the bass guitar player. The influences include folky melodic lines and male vocals that vary from clean singing to a hissing kind of scream. The slow, mournful doom death from the first two albums has been replaced by a slightly more up tempo, melodic/atmospheric kind of death/doom metal.

After the initial disorientation, I started liking the genuine feel of the album. The keyboards play a not unimportant role in the background, while the guitars carry often very beautiful melodies. Good enough to make me decide to call this a good album. By which I'm even willing to forget that 'Pocta Morane' starts like a folklore schlager, that 'Prvni Lekce Radosti' is a song to happily jump along with and I won't mind the useless instrumental outro as well. Folk influences enough, but nevertheless this remains a decent doom album, although in my opinion not as strong as the first two albums. Some songs are pretty catchy and keep echoing through my head for quite a while after I heard the album. Which is something that cannot be said by all releases we get to hear these days.

Probably this fresh line-up will still grow a little. We can only look forward to the next album. Until then, give this album a try and give it some time to grow on you.

Reviewer's rating: Unrated


Tracklist :
1. Stara Zeme
2. Mohylove Hroby
3. Rujana
4. Divci Valka
5. Pocta Morane
6. Bohu Nemily
7. Horici Mosty
8. Zrcadlo Nasich Skutku
9. Promeny Slov
10. Prvni Lekce Radosti
11. Jedenact

Duration : Approx. 49 minutes

Visit the Dissolving of Prodigy bandpage.

Reviewed on ??-??-???? by Arnstein H. Pettersen
Advertise your band, label or distro on doom-metal.com